Home > About > Acknowledgements


Many people and organizations have helped make Water Star a reality. We sincerely thank them for all their time, efforts and willingness to share their expertise.

Sincerely Andy Yencha, UW-Extension Water Star Coordinator.

Water Star Steering Committee

Members Organization
Elaine Andrews UW Environmental Resources Center
David Boyd The Urban Associates Group
Jim Congdon Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
Lisa Conley Rock River Coalition, Town and Country RC&D
Ann Hirekatur Wisconsin DNR
Ruth Johnson Town and Country RC&D
Pete Jopke Dane County
Michael Forster Rothbart Water Star Coordinator (2008)
Suzanne Wade UW-Extension, Rock River Coalition (Retired)
Ken Wiesner Rock River Coalition (2006 - 2009)
Mark Weaver National Park Service (2006 - 2008)

Student Interns

Gina Castro UW-Whitewater, summer 2009
Andy Obernesser UW-Madison Urban and Regional Planning, spring semester 2008

Program Assistant/Editor

Patrice Kohl

Website and Online Application Development

Nathan Trick UWEX Broadcast and Media Innovations Online Services Specialist
Susan Speth UWEX Broadcast and Media Innovations Web Design Specialist

Water Star Working Group Participants

In early 2008, we invited professionals from many disciplines to help us develop the activity lists, the backbone of the Water Star Community Program. The following individuals attended at least one of the four sessions. We thank them for their assistance in developing the Water Star Community Program:

Anne Anderson Civil Engineer Mead & Hunt
Tim Anderson Environmental Health Officer City of Watertown
Elaine Andrews Director Environmental Resources Center UW-Extension/UW
Jacob Blue Landscape Architect Applied Ecological Systems
Kurt Calkins County Conservationist Columbia County
Bill Camplin Owner Café Carpe
Patricia Cicero Water Resources Management Specialist Jefferson County
Lisa Conley President Rock River Coalition
Rick Eilertson Environmental Engineer City of Fitchburg
Karen Etter Hale Executive Secretary Madison Audubon Society
Dean Fischer Public Works City of Whitewater
Michael Forster Rothbart 2008 Water Star Community Program Coordinator Water Star Community Program
Phil Gaebler Water Resources Engineer CH2M HILL
Pat Goggin Lakes Specialist UW Extension/UWSP
Lori Grant Policy Program Manager River Alliance of Wisconsin
Ed Grunden Volunteer Monitoring Coordinator Rock River Coalition
Marcia Hartwig Information Officer Dane County
Laura Hewitt Member Friends of Starkweather Creek
Adam Ingwell Senior Ecologist EC3 Environmental Consulting Group
Ruth Johnson Vision Team Town & Country R, C & D
Penni Klein Parks & Public Lands Manager City of Middleton
Ron Krueger Mayor City of Watertown
John Larson Senior Ecologist Applied Ecological Systems
David Liebl Waste Management & Reduction Specialist UW-Extension
Lynn Markham Land Use Education Specialist UW-Extension
Ed Morse Groundwater Specialist WI Rural Water Assn
Becky Olson Executive Director Upper Sugar River Watershed
Judy Olson
Kate Peterman Naturalist City of West Bend
Robb Remiker Staff Engineer City of Sun Prairie
Willow Russell Program Director Biodiversity Project
Deb Saeger RainReserve Development Coordinator Sustain Dane
Mary Schwister President Pewaukee River Partnership
Jay Settersten Principal EC3 Environmental Consulting Group
Daryl Severson City Engineer City of Sun Prairie
Brian Standing Senior Planner Dane County
Scott Taylor Rock River Coalition Board Taylor Conservation, LLC
Marsha Vomastic Member Rock River Coalition
Suzanne Wade Basin Educator UW Cooperative Extension
Beth Wentzel Water Resources Engineer Applied Ecological Services
Kate Wipperman Project Assistant Natural Heritage Land Trust
Dawn Zanto Community Development Specialist Mead & Hunt
Nancy Zolidis Senior Hydrogeologist Montgomery Associates

Technical Workshop Attendees

In Dec 2008 - February 2009 four workshops were held around Wisconsin with professionals in all fields of water, helped hone the actions and provided feedback on rankings and priorities. Without their expertise many of the key actions would not have been included.

Anne Anderson Civil Engineer Mead & Hunt
Kirsten Cahow-Scholtes County Conservationist Eau Claire County
Betsey Day Consultant Natural Resources Consulting, Inc
Tracy Foss Utility Project Engr City of Fitchburg
John Genskow Public Works Director City of Eau Claire
Patrick Goggin Lakes Specialist UWEX/UWSP Watershed Science Education Center
Chris Goodwin Mgr Water Resources Ayres Associates
Jon Gumtow Consultant Natural Resources Consulting, Inc
Erin Henegar Aquatic Invasive Specialist UWEX/UWSP Watershed Science & Education Center
Laura Herman Clean Water Clean Boats Coor. UWEX/UWSP Watershed Science & Education Center
Ken Jain Sanitarian Eau Claire Co. Health
Krista James Biology Instructor UW-Stout
Tim King Consultant Natural Resources Consulting, Inc
Neil Koch retired hydrologist Dunn County
Bob Korth Lakes Specialist UWSP
George Kraft Director UWEX/UWSP Watershed Science & Education Center
Amanda Little Biology Instructor UW-Stout
Kevin Masarik Groundwater Educ. Specialist UWEX/UWSP Watershed Science & Education Center
Paul McGinley Research Scientist UWEX/UWSP Watershed Science & Education Center
Cynthia Mueller Educator Gordon Bubolz Nature Center
Todd Polacek Business Development Spec. Applied Ecological Services Inc
Jeff Ripp Groundwater Coordinator Public Service Commission of Wisconsin
Kristy Rogers Regional Aquatic Habitat Coordinator WDNR
Tim Ryan Engineering Consultant-Stormwater WI Dept of Commerce
Kristy Treichel Civil Engr/Water Resources City of River Falls
Tom Ward Retired, County Conservationist Manitowoc County
Daniel Zerr Lower Chippewa River Basin Educator UW Extension
Nancy Zolidis Senior Hydrogeologist Montgomery Associates

Many others have provided individual feedback on Water Star thank you to everyone who has provided input to the program, it will truly be a shining star on how municipalities can be inspired and recognized for their work with our precious water resources.